They looked and turned away, poem by Kim Whysall-Hammond (WHEN I MOVED Poetry and Prose Series)

Aha! I have a poem published by the Silver Birch Press….

Silver Birch Press

garry-gayThey looked and turned away
by Kim Whysall-Hammond

They looked and turned away
Londoners afraid to interact
With the girl sitting, weeping
On a stinkingly hot day in the city
Exclaiming that she had gone blind
Oversized suitcase abandoned near her feet
My feet
Someone pushed a cold drink into my hand
A woman’s voice comforted me
A stranger joined me on the step, asked where I was going
Told me that a long hot walk carrying a load
Had affected my sight
Sat until, miraculously, my sight returned
Then left
Pulling myself to my feet
I retrieved the offending suitcase
Slowly made my way to the Tube station
Continued my journey, moving from London to Oxford
Changing university, leaving friends and home city
Aiming for a Doctorate, I should have noted the omen
For I found loneliness and failure

IMAGE: “Suitcase full of books” by Garry Gay. Prints available…

View original post 122 more words

5 thoughts on “They looked and turned away, poem by Kim Whysall-Hammond (WHEN I MOVED Poetry and Prose Series)

          1. Thank you! And yes, it was terrible but I’m no longer devastated by the loss–it’s shaped who I am, but I also have grown from the experience. It still sucks, for sure, but it’s helped me love others better and care about them, so not all was lost. My sister read my article and she said “its funny you see me as extroverted. I always thought I was introverted.” LOL. Except, she always had a ton of friends and I didn’t. So I guess who is right in that scenario??

            Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

